Gentlemen,

I’d like to showcase a few more reactions that I’ve copied off of Youtube that respond to the video that I linked to in the last article. I’m sharing these out of some very legitimate concern for the Manosphere community and MRAs.

MrZadzookies commented that the video is

“INTERESTING……If this Farrell is so bad why is the school letting him speak and isn’t it harassment what that last woman is doing to that student who wants to hear for himself what this farrell person is about?
She should be expelled permanently.”

My understanding is that many of the protesters may well not be students of the University of Toronto at all. Many have graduated, have never actually gone to university or actually attend the nearby Ryerson University. Some of those present were what the police described later as professional activists, so don’t assume that everyone at UofT is crazy.

As far as permanent expulsion goes, I don’t think that I’d like to see that come about. We all make mistakes and many people  never learn from the ones that they make, but I for one do not want to be a part of a society where people are punished for the stupid things they do that are not in fact criminal.

Her treatment of me was not kind, but I highly doubt that it was legitimately criminal. I don’t like the idea of her being punished by UofT (were she a student) any more than I like the idea of young men being punished by academic institutions for rapes that they may or may not of committed.

Judicial institutions exist for a reason, let them work, and if you aren’t satisfied with the results, take legitimate democratic action to change the system in a more just version of itself. Otherwise, we are no better than an angry mob of people barricading an entrance with our bodies just because we wanted to.

As for those that did certainly break the law that night, I’m disappointed that no charges were laid, but I also didn’t take the time to contact my MP, so I can’t really pretend to be outraged when I couldn’t be bothered to make a simple phone call to my federal representative.

862matstar stopped by to state that

“If someone was calling me ‘fucking scum’ i would have hit them around the head after they said it a couple of times. “

Alternamaton agreed, saying

“I’m pretty sure that America’s founding fathers would not have considered getting up in someone’s face and shouting, “Fuck you! You’re fucking scum!” to be “free speech”. Look at George Washington: that guy was no joke. Get in his face and start cursing him out and you’d go down hard. I’m sure he’d be classy and only hit you the one time, but he wouldn’t just sit there and take it.”

as did 0010soccerdude10

“That dude who was listening to the woman calling him scum should have punched her. If it was another man saying those sort of things surely he would have hit him.”

and the angelofdeath156.

“That girl at 4:00, I would have broken her nose for calling me all those names. How rude!”

And just to add fuel to the fire, consider dororono‘s little contribution.

“I would rape the girl at the end of the video with a rake.”

Now, I am not going to suggest for a second that any of these comments don’t fall firmly under free speech as it is currently defined (although the last quoted comment may cross a line). My issue with these sorts of comments is that it makes me sad to see others recommending a violent response.

A violent answer to a violent protest, for any reason other than unavoidable self-defence, is absolutely the wrong choice. I’m not going to argue the violence never solves anything….it solved WWII. But those necessities are far and few between for those of us currently living in Canada.  If all I have to do to do my part in preserving a civil society is ignore a woman throwing a few petty words my way, I consider it a good deal. My have responsibilities to myself, yes, but also responsibilities as a citizen. In this case, there was no real harm down to me, my ego has never been better, so I was glad to have the opportunity to bring a little slice of peace to a fragile situation.

whoo689 comes in a little more evenly with

“It must’ve took a lot in him to keep that guy from PUNCHING HER LIGHTS OUT! I don’t encourage domestic violence, but… seriously, lady. Just back off! How can you DARE judge someone just for SEEING ONE SPEAKER?? YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW THE GUY!”

Atavist89 feels similarly, stating

“4:00 That poor guy is struggling not to punch her! So would I.”

I’ve got to say, punching her or responding physically was the last thing on my mind. I had trained police officers a few few away with me who had far more training and use-of-force equipment than I and I trusted them to help me if it became dangerous for me to be there…which they did.

When I read comments like the last two that I’ve quoted, I really hope that there are people like me out there whose immediate reaction in circumstances like these isn’t to respond physically.

I’ve been in two or three particularly scary situations before that absolutely dwarf this situation in the risk that I felt. One involved an SUV, road rage and me on a motorbike carrying one passenger. The driver of the SUV cut me off, forced me off the road, all the while with his wife hanging out the passenger window letting loose a blue streak of obscenities. I was pinned down and couldn’t get away from them. The man approached me from behind hit me, just hard enough to be sure that he had my attention, and proceeded to shout at me in language that I was only semi-fluent in. I didn’t understand a word he was saying.

Now, keep in mind, I have several years of experience in judo and this guy was half my size. I would have been within my rights to respond violently and few would have blamed me. Instead, I kept my cool and apologized the best that I could (I had no idea why this vehicle was chasing me in the first place) and eventually he and his wife got tired of assaulting a even-tempered foreigner. I wrote the license plate down as they took off and never regretted keeping my cool in this situation that very well could have turned deadly.

So, I can assure all who read this, the situation at UofT was not friendly, but I hardly felt threatened. It was, if anything, a nice chill break from what I usually do on a Friday night. All in all, I was happy to be there.

Violence is occasionally necessary, but rarely with armed police officers standing inches away, intent on protecting your safety, should the need arise. If physical violence had suddenly been directed towards me, my plan was to drop, cover up my vital organs and let the police do their job. Let’s just be glad that it never came to that.

There were, however, some responses that put a smile on my face.

For example, morganne23 chimed in to say

“F***ing scum” wow… classy. Way to get your point across in a classy manner. I am a woman, and I wouldn’t listen to that kind of crap. This is so ridiculous, I’m sorry, but it sounds ignorant the way the protesters are handling themselves.

87MrMason added

“I commend the man who was verbally attacked by the pitiful little cowardly feminist for not taking it’s head off!”

 Genderratic paid me a much appreciated compliment

“…the guy in the video handled this like a boss. He held his head high and walked past her sneering.”

as did justsomefellow2

“The guy at 4:02 should be proud of himself. He handled the hatred, anger, violence, and vile comments well.”

Comments like those make me proud to be who I am.

And in case the idea crossed your mind, let’s not do what TomHasVideo suggests,

“The woman at 3:57 seems to be featured as one of the worst here throughout the video. WE NEED TO FIND WHO SHE IS AND PUBLISH HER DETAILS.”

We’ve got better things to do with our time.

If you are a young man, use your time to build a future that you can share with others you care about.

If you are an older guy, find a young man and mentor him. Show him the ropes and teach him to keep his head up no matter how anyone insults him. That’s what my father did for me.

Yours,

C.T. West

Part I | Part II

